Hot chocolate cookies

hotcococookies (1 of 1)

Winter is a struggle for me. I crave sunshine and warm weather, and I don’t get much of either in the area where I live. Its hard getting off work when its dark and trying to keep a positive attitude. This girl is much happier in 75 degree weather and no snow or slush to trudge through!

hotcococookies (5 of 21)-4

Since I choose to stay inside like a hermit under my fuzzy blanket until mother nature decides to get her act together and bring spring I need other hobbies to occupy my time. Baking is the first one that comes to mind. I love a good cup of hot chocolate and I love cookies even more!

hotcococookies (14 of 21)

These cookies have hot chocolate mix and marshmallow bits in the batter. They aren’t overly chocolaty, but chunks of milk chocolate add to the chocolate factor. I loved them warm from the oven, but they stayed soft and chewy for days.

HOTCOCOCOOKIE2 (1 of 1)

Hot Chocolate Mix Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup hot chocolate mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup chopped milk chocolate (or milk chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup Marshmallow Bits

How to Make

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchement paper or a silicone baking mat. Cream butter and brown sugar together in a stand mixer or with a hand mixer on medium speed for about 1 minute until combined. Add in hot chocolate and continue mixing for about 30 seconds. Add in eggs and vanilla and continue mixing until well incorporated. Turn mixer to low and add in salt, baking soda and flour. Mix until just combined. Add in milk chocolate and Marshmallow Bits, stirring until evenly mixed in.

Drop by heaping tablespoon onto lined baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 9-11 minutes, until edges are set and slightly golden. Transfer to wire rack to cool. Store the cookies in an airtight container for a week.

HOTCOCOCOOKIE (1 of 1)

Recipe adapted from Cookies and Cups

4 thoughts on “Hot chocolate cookies

Leave a comment