Taco Chex Mix

tacochexmix2 (1 of 1)

I have a deep respect for school teachers. The patience they have to be kind, caring, and teach our children is a special quality not many people possess. High school teachers especially. I was a teenager once. They aren’t fun. I am currently trying to stunt my children’s growth with mass amounts of coffee in hopes they don’t grow up (I kid I kid!)

tacochexmix (1 of 1)

You might think that young kids would be easier. They say such adorable things (I cried the day my daughter stopped calling a sandwich a “namich”) and they are so full of curiosity and wonder. Let me tell you though, that the opposite is true. The first time I volunteered in Makenna’s preschool classroom I was overwhelmed. So many 4 year olds and they have SO MUCH ENERGY. I was exhausted after 4 hours (actually more like 30 minutes.) Props to you preschool teachers. You deserve wine-ALLTHEWINE.

tacochexmix3 (1 of 1)

I whipped up this snack mix for my day to bring snacks to school. I only used 1/8 cup of taco seasoning to keep it tame for the kiddos, but if you like it zesty I would suggest adding the full  1/4 cup.

Taco Chex Mix

 Ingredients
  • 4 c. rice chex cereal
  • 4 c. oyster crackers
  • 4 c. Gold Fish crackers
  • 4 c. pretzel sticks
  • 1/3 c. canola oil
  • 1/4 c. taco seasoning mix

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
  2. Double line a paper bag.
  3. Pour cereal, crackers and pretzels into paper bag. Top with taco seasoning and oil. Fold top of bag down and shake until mixed well.
  4. Pour snack mix onto two large baking sheets (with sides). Bake at 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.
  5. Cool. Pour into air tight container.

tacochexmix4 (1 of 1)

Recipe Adapted from Julies Eats & Treats

One thought on “Taco Chex Mix

Leave a comment